A number of changes to state workers’ compensation laws took place this year. Here’s a roundup of the more significant changes in SFM’s core states.
A new Minnesota law will limit most workers’ compensation hospitalization costs to 200 percent of what Medicare pays.
The law is effective Jan. 1, 2016.
Currently, large hospitals can charge employers 85 percent of their “usual and customary charges” and small hospitals can charge 100 percent. This has led to wide variations in pricing.
The new law will apply to inpatient treatment of up to $175,000. The law also requires fee schedules for outpatient hospital treatment and ambulatory surgical centers to be implemented by Jan. 1, 2017.
A new Iowa law that became effective July 1 aims to clarify which sole proprietors and company owners are acting as independent contractors.
The law requires sole proprietors, limited liability company members, limited liability partners and partners who choose not to purchase workers’ compensation insurance to fill out state-issued forms.
Those whose companies do not have workers’ compensation policies must file the forms with the state, and they become public information.
Wisconsin is doing some administrative reorganization of workers’ compensation under a new law passed this year.
The workers’ compensation administrative law function will move from the Department of Workforce Development to the Division of Hearings and Appeals.